General suggestions

Hi to all,

First of all I’d like to thank you for bringing this tool to life. It have much potential.

My name is Marino and I’ve been running online campaigns for about 10 years. I run my games in free VTT called TTopRPG and since I have much experience with it, I’ll reference to it a lot.

First I’d like to describe TTopRPG to better understand what I’m trying to say.

TTopRPG is free vtt made by one guy in python. It was his project to help him run campaigns online to his friends. Unfortunately it’s not really system agnostic since it’s been made for playing d20 systems (3.5ed/PF) although its dice roller supports use of other systems. But I found this best vtt for d20 systems. I’ve tried roll20, fantasy grounds and lot of others but I always return to this one.

This is a link http://www.ttoprpg.com/TTopRPG/

PROs

• very easy to learn

• intuitive UI

• very easy to set up campaign

• very good initiative management (it’s portrayed like in Temple of Elemental Evil PC game - character/monster portraits in initiative bar)

• very good campaign management and management of resources (very useful if you run several campaigns/adventures)

• very smooth map handling, easy fog of war, easy token manipulation etc

• good handouts management

• very easy to align grid on maps with drawn grid (maps downloaded from internet, or exported from pdf with adventure.

CONs

• don’t have a server to host. Players connects directly to DMs PC via port forward or some VPN (hamachi)

• is not modular (on development/programmer side) and not system agnostic

• don’t have character sheets

• dynamic lightning is not easy to set up

• map builder is rudimentary

• only .wav files for sounds

Despite these CONs, I found TTopRPG one of the best VTTs out there. So I think it would be good for you to try this rather obscure VTT, because it has many good ideas and I think you would greatly benefit from it.